mortality

Even the mountains do not last,
large as they are, they cut into the sky
a little less all the time

why should we ask our youth,
our selves, to stay on this earth
longer than the mountains?

I have no thirst for immortality

let the laugh lines come
and the worry ones
and the mysterious creases

let my walk slow
let my speech blur

I do not care to be
on this earth forever
or any where near it

I want only to be here
for as long as I am
supposed to be

and to have done
a little good
along the way.

Leave a Reply

